top of page
  • Writer's picturervkayah

2018 Thoughts and 2019 Goals

Updated: Sep 26, 2019

It's the beginning of a new year and although I don't like to call them resolutions, I do like to create a list of goals for the year. This worked out semi-decently for me last year, and even though I didn't accomplish everything, I did use it as a guide for myself.


So this post is going to be all about how I felt about 2018, and some goals I have for the year 2019.

 

2018:


This year, personally, was pretty life-changing. It was the year I learned to handle all the dark and crappy thoughts in my head, and although they are still there, I am able to recognize them and not let them overtake my entire life. I'm functioning!


Next, it was the end of my senior year of high school. First of all, I think I can confidently say that even though I was still struggling with things, the last semester was the best out of the four years. Like the rough times before, especially 2016-2017, were terrible and I can't believe the beginning of 2018 was almost completely different in comparison. I made a lot of memories before graduation, so I didn't hate my entire high school experience at least. Graduation was like a gift, I am so happy to be done with that part of my life, and although adulthood is still very confusing and difficult sometimes, it's so much better than before.


Throughout the summer of 2018, I visited Lebanon. I have been there several times before since my family lives there, but this trip was probably the best for me personally. Even though certain things still bothered me, mostly due to internal stuff, externally the trip was so cool and enjoyable for me.


After returning from Lebanon, I started my first official year of college. I currently attend a community college, so the adjustment wasn't huge for me thankfully (I don't know how I'm going to handle moving out). However, I have more time for myself, and I don't wanna die going to school every day anymore. High school was the worst, let's be real.





Those pretty much sum up the year of 2018 for me. Of course, many more things happened globally, and I'm still working on myself. However, I think the changes that occurred were very big for me, and I hope this year brings more positive changes. I am currently in an okay place. I feel low from time to time, but I'm working through those issues and I hope I am taking steps in the right direction.


2019:


I am trying to make this year my own. I know everyone says that. I even said this last year. I think it is good to start with that mindset because it definitely helped me reach goals last year. Speaking of goals, I have a few I'd like to share.


1. Read 30 books


This isn't surprising. Actually, my current Goodreads Reading Challenge is set at 40 books, but my list of goals is in my planner and 30 was the number I settled on. In 2018 I read 35 books so I think both of these numbers are manageable for me.



2. Complete 5 video games


This is the same goal I had last year, which I did meet. For me, completing a game means I have finished the main story missions. This does not mean that I am 100 percent done with the game. There are games I completed years ago that I am not done with. From side quests to meeting extra challenges, I am never officially done with the game. I just love playing video games, and I hope I make more time for them in the new year.


3. Apply to universities


This is a goal I am currently in the process of finishing. Like I mentioned earlier, I currently attend a community college. I plan, however, to transfer to a four-year university in the fall to complete my degree. I should also I add that I need to apply for scholarships, too.


4. Workout 3 times a week


I had this same goal last year and ultimately failed after just a few months. When I stress that I must work out, I really do. However, I may alter this goal slightly so that it also encompasses meditation and yoga because they are good for my anxiety and my well-being obviously. Also, I should probably drink more water.


5. Plan out my novel


I have had a story in my head for the longest time. This is the year I want to prepare and hopefully, start writing my novel.


6. Participate in NaNoWriMo


I originally wanted to do NaNoWriMo last year, however, I was not in the right place. I hope that after planning out my novel and figuring other things out, I can finally start writing!


7. Blog/Journal/Write/Reflect more


This is something I really should do more because as I've said so many times before, writing helps me figure out my thoughts. I need it, and if I ever stopped writing I might not be able to handle life.




8. Pray more

My faith is very important to me. Unfortunately, I feel like I've been neglecting prayer and just my overall closeness to God lately. Along this line, I want to read more Islamic books.


9. Learn Languages/Duolingo


I have essentially forgotten all the Spanish I've learned, which is very bad. I have another Spanish course this semester, so I should really brush up. I also have always wanted to learn Italian, and I hope to continue that journey.


10. Create more art


Creatively speaking, I've been focusing on words more than visuals. I do a more creative journal, however, I really want to learn how to paint. It's my favorite medium, both to look at and create, and I honestly want to try my hand at it more.


11. Give back more


l feel like "giving back" is a very narrow term for what I'm trying to get at. I want to give back to people in need, obviously. I also want to shed lead on important issues, as well as get involved. The world is a dark place, so I want to help make it better.


12. Take risks


I want to stop saying I'll fail something before I even try. I want to do things I've never done before. I don't know what yet, but I guess that's the fun in it. I'm a boring person who doesn't really leave her house, so I should get out more.

 

I also have mini goals, like maybe start a YouTube channel, stress less, take more pictures, etc. I want to end this post by saying that even if your personal goals seem daunting, you should take it one day at a time. I know it seems like I'm putting a lot on myself, but the thing is, I work on each thing little by little, not all at once. I'm not a superhero, I'm not perfect, so doing things in small steps is the way to go. Even if it feels like you're not making progress, the results will surprise you. I promise.


Love, Ru.


Instagram: @ru.reads


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page