top of page
  • Writer's picturervkayah

January 2019 | Wrap Up

Updated: Sep 26, 2019

Brrrr...Well, it's been the coldest month in a long time. Which makes it perfect weather to stay warm and read a few good books. I'll admit, I didn't read as much as I'd like, and I say that every month, but I've been so busy.


Excuses aside, let's get into all the books I read this month.

 

1. Hamlet by William Shakespeare


Rating: ★★★★


I listened to the audiobook and had such a good time. I can see why so many people love Hamlet. The characters were interesting and unique, and it's without question that Shakespeare writes incredibly well. I mean, come on, he's Shakespeare.


2. Nimona by Noelle Stevenson


Rating: ★★★★★


This graphic novel was so CUTE. It hit some heavy topics, and I'll admit I got emotional at times. This is an excellent example of how great storytelling can be in graphic novel form. The illustrations were so adorable, and I believe the pacing of the story was excellent. 10/10 would recommend.


3. Much Ado About Nothing by William Shakespeare


Rating: ★★★


This is one of Shakespeare's comedies. I don't particular like comedies, especially romantic comedies, so going into this I had little hope I would enjoy it. The dramatic irony stressed me out, which I guess is the point, but man, the women in this play barely got any credit. If you ever need to prove to someone how dramatic men can be, show them this play. Nonetheless, I love how it was written. Beatrice is a queen.


4. Six of Crows (Six of Crows #1) by Leigh Bardugo


Rating: ★★★★★


I'm dead. New favorite book. Review coming soon.


5. Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo


Rating: ★★★★★


Like I said, review coming soon. I'm still in the midst of reading it, but I'd like to count it with my January Wrap Up because I'm almost done, unfortunately.

 

Books, books, and more books. Two Shakespeare plays this month, and a crazy-wonderful duology. Let's see what next month brings.


Love, Ru.

Instagram: @ru.reads


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page