top of page
  • Writer's picturervkayah

March 2019 | Wrap Up

Updated: Sep 26, 2019

Happy Spring! Finally! I read just a few books in March, but I'm very pleased with the selection.

 

1. Difficult Women by Roxane Gay


Rating: ★★★★★

This collection of short stories was so raw and emotional. It is a detailed and honest reflection of the lives women have to lead. I cried at parts, but I was also in admiration of the strength of women who have to go through so many struggles.


2. To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han


Rating: ★★★★★

This was such a light-hearted and enjoyable read. I feel so connected to Lara Jean. Her personality is not exactly like mine, but there were just so many moments where I could relate to her. I cannot wait to continue the series.


3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald


Rating: ★★★★

This was a re-read for me because I am currently writing an essay about it for school. This is my favorite classic. I never get bored with the book or the movie, plus it's super short.


4. Othello by William Shakespeare


Rating: ★★★

This play infuriated me, but I can't say it was badly written. It's Shakespeare, come on now. This focuses on a black man who is married to a white woman, and it's interesting to see that racial dynamic so long ago. The racism made the book less enjoyable to read, and the male characters being dumb and ridiculous made it worse. Emilia was probably my favorite character.

 

And that's all I read in March. A lot of them were super short, but I think I was in sort of a reading slump and relied mainly on audiobooks. Audiobooks are truly lifesavers.


If you want to chat about any of these books or just about anything else, please don't hesitate to message me.


Love, Ru.


Instagram: @ru.reads




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page