top of page
  • Writer's picturervkayah

October 2018 | Wrap Up

Updated: Sep 26, 2019

Hello again!


October was over two weeks ago, I know, but November has just flown by. I can't believe Thanksgiving (for those of you who live in the USA) is this week. Even though November will be over soon, I still wanted to share what I read in the month of October, because I read quite the range of stories in several different formats. From graphic novels to audiobooks, here's my October Wrap-Up.


[There may be spoilers, so if you're thinking about reading any of these then you should skip over the reviews on those books.]


 

1. Green Arrow: The Life and Death of Oliver Queen (Volume One)


Rating: ★★★★




I read this at the very beginning of the month, just as a quick read. I loved all the characters, and the dialogue was pretty nice too. However, I personally felt it was very forgettable, and would have liked to see Oliver more as the Green Arrow, rather than just Oliver Queen. I don't know if it's because I read it a while ago now, but I can barely remember certain parts. Either way, I was a short graphic novel to pick up, and I love the DC universe, so if you do too, I still recommend it.


2. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins


Rating: ★★



I read (or should I say listened) to this in audiobook form, and just couldn’t stop. I don’t think it necessarily gripped me, it was more of a hate-listen-read type of scenario. I don’t think the story was all that awful actually, but the characters were just so unlikeable to me. The pacing was good, and it was interesting to see how all these people's lives got woven together. The unreliable narrator trope is something I'd like to see more of in books, even though these characters made me so mad at times. If you enjoy that sort of suburban thriller then I'd still recommend it.


3. War Storm by Victoria Aveyard


Rating: ★★★★★



I could scream about this series all day. I know many in the book community have mixed opinions on the Red Queen series, but it's one of my favorites, if not my favorite. This was a fantastic conclusion to the series. I love how the ending didn't end (spoilers) with Mare and Cal actually together, because realistically they need time to deal with the decisions they have made, and how Norta is shifting from complete Silver power to a democracy. Evangeline truly redeemed herself, and she's become one of my favorites. Maven was such an interesting villain for series. I love Mare, Cal, Farley, just all of these characters. I am sad to see it end, but I cannot wait for the Broken Throne short story collection next year!


4. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll


Rating: ★★★★



I have always wanted to read the original story, and I finally got around to it this month. In fact, I listened to the audiobook on my way to class every morning for a week. It was so adorable, and every time the queen would yell "Off with their head!" I'd laugh. It was funny, I'm glad I read this classic.


5. Saints and Misfits by S.K. Ali


Rating: ★★★★



As a Muslim, this book was much appreciated. I truly felt like I could relate, and I hope to see more Muslim representation in YA books. It was different than other Muslim novels because it didn't rely on stereotypes to be able to reach a wider audience. Janna had real problems, and she definitely was not one-dimensional. It was real and treated Muslim girls just like any other protagonist in a book. One thing that bothered me was the ending seemed a bit rushed. I would have like to see the events that followed Janna telling her secret since sexual assault needs to be discussed more! Especially in the Muslim community. Honestly, I was probably just too sad that it was over.


6. The Only Pirate at the Party by Lindsey Stirling (and Brooke Passey)


Rating: ★★★★★



I absolutely adore Lindsey Stirling. She’s so positive and talented, and her music makes me so happy. This was honestly such a nice read. The chapters weren't too long and so I got through it pretty quickly. It was a great insight into her early life and how her career got started. In fact, just after I read this I went and bought her Brave Enough album on vinyl.


7. Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien


Rating: ★★★★★



One of my best friends coerced me into reading this series (I would've anyway), but honestly, I love this world so much. I found it interesting how this story was kind of divided into two parts. I'll admit the last part of the story kind of dragged on a bit, and I found myself wondering what Gandalf and Aragorn were up to. But that ending! I can't wait to get to the next and final book!


 

And those were all my reads for the month of October! What did you read this month? Have you read any of these? If so, feel free to come chat with me about them anytime.


Love, Ru.


Instagram: @ru.reads


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page